Page 1 of 8 12345678 LastLast

Thread: Introducing myself

Default Introducing myself

Hello,

My name is Per-Olof Samuelsson, but if I have met any of you, you might remember me as Sam Samuelsson, because everybody used to call me that in my youth.

I was involved with Scientology for about a decade, from 1967 to 1977, the last five years as a Sea Org member. I worked as a Swedish translator at Pubs DK in Copenhagen. I left the SO and the CofS in October 1977 with the firm intention never to return. I have since been living a fairly happy and productive wog life.

In the early 80s I received demands from the CofS that I repay my "free-loader debt". I figured out that, since this is a debt that is accumulated over a period of one billion years, it can also be paid back over a period of one billion years, so I agreed to pay it in installments of 0.05 Swiss Francs every one thousandth year. The CofS wasn't exactly happy with this solution, but I also wrote an article about it which I managed to get published in a Swedish magazine. Since then, the CofS has left me virtually alone. (There were a couple of feeble attempts to make me accept "amnesties", but this was also in the 80s.) I haven't even had to think about Scientology since then (frankly, I have lost all interest in the subject).

However, quite recently, the CofS seems to have decided that I have no more urgent wish in life than to rejoin and "come back on lines". A few months ago, I began getting phone calls from somebody in Copenhagen. I told him I am not interested (I even asked him to look up the word "not" in a good dictionary and then use it in a few sentences, until he understood the word - to no avail, of course). Finally, I got so fed up with this that I disconnected my phone (I was going to change to using a mobile anyway, but this hastened my decision to do so).