What's new

I Went Inside A Scientology Church -ShoutWire

KnightVision

Gold Meritorious Patron
http://shoutwire.com/comments/full/217962/I_Went_Inside_A_Scientology_Church

Some years back, I worked as a sauté cook in a restaurant that was close to where I lived. As such, I would frequently walk to work. Now, between work and my house, there was a Church of Scientology. One night, I got off work a bit early, and as I passed the church, I noticed a red neon "open!" sign in the window.

By that point, I had heard all about the South Park Scientology episode, but I am not one to get my news from South Park. I find things out for myself. I cracked a half smile and walked in.

Pictures of Hubbard were hung on the wall. A large cardboard 'Dianetics' display was to my left, advertising a special price for the entire collection of Scientology books. There are about ten books in all, and all for the special price of just under $150. At the desk in front of me were two women just past middle age, chattering in hushed tones – much the same as you would expect in a library. One of them quickly finished what she was saying and ran out of the room, while the other one turned to help me. I was welcomed, greeted... but the air of courtesy this woman was projecting felt just a little too forced. I put this thought out of my mind, determined to make an objective assessment.