Starting on ESMB Professor Jim Beverley

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by James Beverley, Feb 27, 2012.

View Users: View Users
  1. hello fellow readers. My name is Jim Beverley. I'm a professor of Christian Thought & Ethics at Tyndale Seminary in Toronto. When I first became a professor in 1978 I taught a course on new religions and it has become one of my specialties. I've been particularly interested in Scientology over the years and since 2005 I've given it even renewed attention.

I have connections with Scientology leaders in Toronto and have had frequent connections with Independent Scientologists and ex-members. I'm fascinated with the current controversies about Scientology although also heartbroken by the dark side of family breakups and disconnections.

I enjoy reading this board. If you want to reach me, here's my e-mail:

jamesbeverley@sympatico.ca

2. Jump

Jump Operating teatime

Dear Professor,

Welcome to posting on the message board. I hope your visiting here is educational for us and for yourself.

Do you subscribe to the idea of 'mind control' by cultic groups? This is outlined in Steve Hassan's book "Releasing the Bonds - Empowering People to Think for Themselves "

Enjoy your stay,
    Jump

3. Type4_PTS

Type4_PTS Diamond Invictus SP

Welcome Professor! :yes:

As you're probably aware, the CoS promotes that there is no conflict between Scientology and other religions such as Christianity. Do you feel that there IS a fundamental conflict?

4. RogerB

RogerB Crusader

Well, Jim, welcome aboard!

That's a rather elegant introduction of yourself you did there . . . be interesting to hear from you regarding what insights you've gleaned from your reading here, and also what posts particularly helped you in your work and studies.

Rog

Last edited: Feb 27, 2012
  5. TG1

TG1 Angelic Poster

Hi, Jim. Welcome to ESMB. I hope you enjoy yourself here -- and learn some helpful things.

TG1

6. SpecialFrog