What's new

LRH's Reading Habits and Sources

fisherman

Patron with Honors
Kha Khan,

I was honored by your cross-post to WWP and really appreciate your kind words! I apologize for not responding sooner. I always try write when I have time to do it carefully and this was my first opportunity.

While I've taken quite a few philosophy courses, my degree is in 'Intellectual History' -- an obscure name for the 'history of ideas', including philosophy. With your degree in Political Science, I'm sure we've traipsed over much the same ground! Wouldn't it be fun to go back and do it again? !! You wrote:

I always believed that, with one exception: (1) Ron did not read or rely upon any original sources; and (2) Ron relied solely on Will Durant's book The Story of Philosophy for all of the reasons you have stated. The one exception being Ron's reliance on Alfred Korsybski, which I believe Ron read in the original, even if superficially.

Mr. Hubbard's superficiality is so transparent, that I'd guess anyone with a 'Poly Sci' or strong Liberal Arts background sees that almost immediately. Still, Hubbard presents himself very cleverly and his specific errors are not obvious until you start reading the material. Listening to him speak, I imagine he sounded fairly convincing.

I agree with your "one exception being Ron's reliance on Alfred Korsybski..." There's biographical information that Mary Sue was reading Korsbyski and sorta forced it on Hubbard. He wasn't interested until she started reading it to him out loud. As I recall the story, Hubbard ejaculated a "Wow, I can use that" kinda statement and they started reading it together. According to that account it was only one volume and I think "General Semantics".

I read some of "General Semantics" and it aligns closely with what Hubbard 'thinks' he's saying with regard to 'triple AAA' logic.