What's new

Yet Another Never-in Joins

wogX

Patron
(Another? Gee, thanks Leah.)

So I've been lurking here for several weeks. I honestly am not sure why a never-in such as myself would find this all so interesting, but I do.

I have no experience with scientology. I remember seeing the "volcano" ads selling the Dianetics book back in the mid/late 80s. I also remember a step-brother of mine (we're the same age) reading Battlefield Earth. I don't believe at the time I had ever heard the name scientology. The only LRH I have ever read is the Fear novella. Don't recall anything in particular about it.

I was raised in a churchgoing but not (it didn't seem to me) particularly "serious about religion" Catholic family. By that I mean that I went to church weekly, did catechism, became an altar boy and "all that", but other than "praying over supper" I don't recall a lot of particular discussions where religion was involved. My memory for specifics have never been great, so perhaps I've just forgotten most of it! :wink2: In any case, I grew out of it and have not been in a church since I was 18 or 19 (other than a couple of family weddings). I don't even call myself atheist or even agnostic; more that I've never felt the need for any particular faith at all. I do find that all religions to be wacky, and even what one might call "atheistic evangelism" turns me off. All that being said, I'm always fascinated to learn things about them.