What's new

The Day I Changed Scientology Forever

Kha Khan

Patron Meritorious
The time was the mid 1980s. Big Blue complex in Los Angeles. I was not Sea Org. I was not on staff at a Class V Org or Mission. To tell you the truth, I wasn't even a Scientologist. I was a professional contractor to the Church. And a student of Scientology. A very serious student of Scientology -- which may have proved the problem.

Given my professional relationship with the Church, I pretty much had the run of the place for awhile. Ate in the Sea Org dining room. People mistakenly called me Sir, which I found weird but (and this unfortunately says a lot about me at the time) not displeasing.

I initially got into Scientology in a way far different from most, only possibly excluding people who enter on the WISE route. My professional responsibilities first required me to master the green on whites, and particularly the management volumes regarding organization and structure. Out of pure interest and curiosity, I then read all of the basic books. I then moved on the to red on whites, the tech vols.

Scientology was attractive to me in at least four ways. First, I am a student and academic at heart, and I do very well with reading, understanding, distinguishing, applying and extrapolating from text. If Scientology has anything, it is text. Moreover, at least at the basic and lower levels Scientology appears (excluding History of Man) to be rational, logical and deductive.

Secondly, I was an Idealist who was searching for a purpose larger than myself.

Thirdly, in my initial introduction to the Church and its members they played the role of the persecuted minority and victims of religious bigotry and discrimination. People who needed "saving" and an religion that needed protection. Perfect.